10 Facts To Know About Republic Day

After India achieved Independence on August 15 in 1947, Indian leaders wanted January 26 to be remembered in history as well. Therefore, the day was made to coincide with the day of Swaraj. Here are 10 facts about Republic Day that everyone must know.

1. Three years after Independence

The first Republic Day was celebrated three years after we got Independence, that is, on January 26, 1950. Actually, it took 2 years and 11 months for the Indian Constitution to be drafted.

2. The First Republic Day Parade

The first Republic Day parade was held at Major Dhyan Chand National Stadium and was attended by 15,000 civilians. Initially, it was held in Red Fort, the National Stadium, then in Kingsway Camp, and then in the Ramlila ground. Finally in 1955 Rajpath was chosen as the permanent venue.  Pakistan’s Governor General Malik Ghulam Muhammad was the first chief guest in 1955 for the parade held at Rajpath.

3. Mahatma Gandhi’s Favorite Song Played During The Parade

During the Republic Day parade, a Christian song “Abide With Me” is played and it is considered as one of Mahatma Gandhi’s favourite songs.

4. Hindi As National Language

In 1965 January 26th, Hindi was declared as the national language of India.

5. Handwritten Constitution

One interesting fact about the Indian Constitution is that it is handwritten in two languages- Hindi & English. It was signed by 308 members on January 24th, 1950 and became effective two days later.

6. Dr B. R. Ambedkar 

Drafting the Constitution was a herculean task. Dr B.R. Ambedkar took 2 years and 11 months to draft the Indian Constitution.

7. Indian Air Force As Independent Body

On Republic Day, the Indian Air Force came into existence. Before this, the Indian Air Force was a controlled body but after Republic Day, Indian Air Force became an independent body.

8. Best Aspects From Other Countries

Our Constitution has the best aspects of the Constitution of other countries. Liberty, Equality and Fraternity were adopted from the French Constitution while the Five-Year Plan came from the Russian Constitution.

9. National Awards

A majority of national awards such as Bharat Ratna, Padma Bhushan and Kirti Chakra are awarded during the Republic Day ceremony.

10. Purna Swaraj Day

On January 26, 1930, India celebrated its Independence Day or Purna Swaraj Day, when the Declaration of Independence was officially promulgated. A resolution was passed by the Indian National Congress where it was declared Purna Swaraj – complete freedom from the British Raj. However, in 1947, since August 15 turned out to be the official Independence Day, the Indian Constitution was implemented on this day in 1950, to mark the 1930 declaration.

Feature Image Courtesy: Incredibly Numing

Thanks For Visiting 10Tips!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s